Finally… Living the MBA life…

Before coming for an MBA at Tepper, I was apprehensive of tiring days and long nights. However, Mini 1 didn’t seem as tough as feared. Mini 2 was good too. Mini 3 has turned out to be the actual MBA experience I came looking for. Club activities, Classes, Assignments, Recruiting and Networking. Balancing these 5 elements at MBA is the ultimate skill you can aim for. I am satisfied to see myself progressing in this direction.

One of the most satisfying experiences has been getting the roles that I planned to take at Tepper before coming here. Robber Barons, the weekly student magazine at Tepper, seemed fun ever since I read about it. Now that I take on the chief-editor’s role, I am living a part of my Tepper dream. Similarly, while watching the International Festival 2013 video on YouTube before coming to Tepper, I looked at the emcees and imagined myself hosting the show for the coming year. So far, it looks like it’s going to come true too. I am also involved in the Welcome Weekend committee which is really exciting as I missed out on my Welcome Weekend, being in India. I remember posting a comment on Facebook before the 2013 Welcome Weekend – “Guys, please take a lot of pictures and share with us so that we know what is happening during the Welcome Weekend”. Guess what, that’s what I am going to do in this event. I am going to make sure that all those students who cannot attend the event get a lot of updates, pictures and videos from the event so that they can be a part of it too. I see a lot of my what-if plans and ideas taking shape in the form of actual responsibilities at Tepper. It’s extremely satisfying to say the least.

This experience has made one thing very clear – MBA is not a magic wand. You come here with skills and interests that you have developed for 25-30 years of your life. During the MBA, More than developing new skills and interests, you learn how to transfer them to different environments. And that makes me believe that MBA is more of a transition than a regeneration.

I have finally begun to immerse myself completely in the MBA life and am sure that despite the challenges, it is going to be a terrific experience!

Leave a Reply

